Overpass Boy [RELEASE DATE: 8/2/24]


This item is a pre-order. It will ship or be available for pickup near the street date. Some items (like exclusives third-party labels) do not arrive at our offices until near the release date, so please expect that pre-orders will NOT arrive by release date. For any orders that contain pre-orders, all items will be held until every item from the order is available to ship.

RELEASE DATE: 8/2/2024

Written with no big plan in mind, Reverend Baron's "Overpass Boy" becomes a Los Angeles meditation, an eight song prayer of poetic topography. The album gives the city its own sound, and its own songs to hum.

Recorded in several different locations of LA, and loosely sketching the story of a young wanderer, the album is an easy current of observations and longings. Slices of soul and doo-wop emerge in stacked harmonies, while the percussion and grooves are the blooms that could only come from East LA. Garcia's investment to vocal tenderness and instrumental high style strikes our universal center. His soft serenade reconnects us to something misplaced.

Playing almost every instrument on the album, Garcia's spirit is tailored into the sound, designing an amalgam of tones and frequencies as idiosyncratic as the singer himself.

Traversing the alleys, passing the sous-chef's cigarette smoke, under the shaking bridges, behind a velvet curtain in a good suit, with a slide guitar in the rain, the titles quilt together for us: Every promise out here walks and waits in the little hours. Jackie and Jimmy drive away and we're left in that little valley, suspended. Recorded and digitally released in 2019, "Overpass Boy" will be re-released by Karma Chief Records on 8/2/2024

1. Jackie
2. Every Promise
3. Little Valley
4. Interlude
5. Out Here
6. Walk With You
7. Little Hours
8. Waiting On You

You may also like